Covering Our Campus & Our Community

A password will be e-mailed to you.

Professor Helen Boylan, Helen Ferguson, and Alexa Yoho.

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa.– Westminster College student and two faculty members received awards at the annual Bartramian Audubon Society Awards Ceremony on Monday, May 8, at the Jennings Environmental Education Center in Slippery Rock, PA.

Alexa Yoho, a junior environmental science major from Coraopolis, PA, recieved the Helen B. Ferguson Award. The Ferguson Award is an annual scholarship given to a Westminster College student studying environmental science or environmental studies. Dr. Helen Boylan, professor of chemistry, presented Yoho with the award, recognizing her leadership in several

environmental organizations including the Tiny House Team, the ALLARM outreach program, the student Green Party, and the

Sierra Student Coalition.

Dr. Kerri Duerr, assistant professor of

biology, and Mr. Brad Weaver, broadcast communication faculty, received awards for “Sustainable Conservation by Individuals.” Mr. Jeffry Hall, president of the Bartramian Audubon Society, awarded Duerr and Weaver for their interdisciplinary approach to teaching “Ornithology” and “Essentials of Digital Media” in the cluster course “Tweetspeak“. Hall praised Duerr and Weaver for their community service aspect to the course as the students successfully worked to establish the Westminster College campus as an Audubon Certified Wildlife Sanctuary.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This