Covering Our Campus & Our Community

A password will be e-mailed to you.

NEW WILMINGTON, Pa.– Daylight saving time (DST) begins Sunday.   At 2 a.m. on March 10 most of the U.S. will “spring forward” and move clocks forward to 3 a.m.  All but two states, Arizona and Hawaii, participate in daylight savings time. 

DST became the national standard in the U.S in 1996.  Florida passed a bill last year that would make it the first state to make DST a year-round standard.  But Congress must approve the plan.

5 Quick facts about DST (source:
  1. DST has severe effects on your health from heart attacks to severe depression.
  2. Pedestrians are more likely to be killed by cars after 6 pm after clocks return to standard time in November.
  3. DST does not decrease energy consumption.
  4. DST became a national standard in the U.S in 1966.
  5. Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, and American Samoa do not observe DST.



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This