You have permission to edit this article.

Mika Named a Semifinalist for Prestigious William V. Campbell Trophy

  • Updated
  • 0
Cameron Mika

IRVING, Texas – Westminster College senior offensive tackle Cameron Mika (Apollo, PA / Kiski Area) was named a semifinalist for the National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) 2020 William V. Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda, one of college football's most sought-after and coveted awards.

Mika was only one of two Presidents' Athletic Conference players (40 NCAA Division III players total) to be a semifinalist. There were only 199 semifinalists in all divisions.

Mika has been a consistent force as a leader on and off the field for the Titans since his career started. Mika earned back-to-back All-Presidents' Athletic Conference (PAC) Honorable Mention in 2018 and 2019. Last season, Mika helped the Titans to the best scoring offense in the PAC with a program-record 37.5 points per game and to second-best in the league in total offense averaging 402.9 yards per game. In the classroom, Mika was named on the Google Cloud Academic All-District Football NCAA Division III District Four First Team, only the second offensive lineman to earn this honor in program history. Additionally, Mika has been a PAC Academic Honor Roll recipient every year. Off the field, Mika has volunteered at Adopt A Family Association, food banks, and his local church and high school football team.

Celebrating its 31st year, the award recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary leadership. The NFF will announce 12-to-14 finalists in November, and each of them will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the 2020 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class Presented by Fidelity Investments. Later this year, one member of the class will be declared as the winner of the 31st Campbell Trophy® Presented by Mazda, having his postgraduate scholarship increased to $25,000 and receiving his own 25-pound-bronze version of the iconic statue.

Nominated by their schools, which are limited to one nominee each, candidates for the awards must be a senior or graduate student in their final year of playing eligibility, have a GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, have outstanding football ability as a first team player or significant contributor and have demonstrated strong leadership and citizenship. The class is selected each year by the NFF Awards Committee, which is comprised of a nationally recognized group of media, College Football Hall of Famers and athletics administrators.


*The National Football Foundation contributed to this release.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.

Live Titan Radio Stream