Covering Our Campus & Our Community

A password will be e-mailed to you.

NEW WILMINGTON, Pa. (Titan Athletics)– The top-seeded Westminster College women’s lacrosse team defeated second-seed Washington and Jefferson College by a score of 15-5 to claim the Presidents’ Athletic Conference (PAC) Championship in front of their home fans Saturday evening. The Titans, in only their third year of existence, won the inaugural PAC title. Westminster was down, 5-3, before scoring 12 unanswered goals to finish out the game.
Westminster (14-2) started strong, as senior Emily D’Amico (Moon Township, PA / Moon Area) tallied the first three goals of the game to give the Titans an early 3-1 lead. Washington and Jefferson (9-8) responded with four consecutive goals for its first lead of the game, 5-3. Westminster countered before the end of the first half, getting two goals courtesy of D’Amico and junior Michaela Hays (Blairsville, PA / Blairsville) to head into halftime tied with the Presidents at 5-5.

Juniors Bria Braddock (Beaver Falls, PA / Blackhawk) and Margo Mason (Pittsburgh, PA / Chartiers Valley) picked up their first goals of the game within the first ten minutes of the second half to take a 7-5 lead. The Titans never looked back as the Westminster back-line stifled the Washington and Jefferson attack, and held the Presidents scoreless for the entirety of the second half.

D’Amico led the way offensively for the Titans, matching a career-high eight goals, totaling a team-high four draw controls, and added a pair of ground balls and caused turnovers. Braddock had three goals of her own, a team-high six ground balls, and a matched a career-high nine caused turnovers. Mason, Hays, and first-years Magen Polczynski (Irwin, PA / Norwin), and Katie Cipriani (Hermitage, PA / Kennedy Catholic) each tallied a goal for Westminster. Mason added three assists, while Hays added two assists of her own. Titan first-year goalkeeper Emma Bradley (South Fayette, PA / South Fayette) recorded five saves in the win.

The Titans have received the automatic bid to the NCAA Divison III Women’s Lacrosse Championship Tournament. Team selections for the NCAA Division III Championship are scheduled to be announced Sunday, May 5 at 9:30 p.m. (EDT) with an online selection show available at First and second round matchups are scheduled for Friday-Sunday, May 10-12.
*Written by Mike Boucher

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This