Powered by Titan Radio & Westminster Cable

A password will be e-mailed to you.

NEW WILMINGTON, Pa. – The Westminster College Department of Athletics and the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) hosted the 14th Annual WESPY (Westminster Exceptional Sports Performances of the Year) Awards Sunday afternoon at Orr Auditorium.

The WESPYs honored team MVPs for all 22 varsity sports, as well as several annual awards and recognition of top athletic achievements throughout the 2016-17 academic year.

Highlighting the event was the awarding of the David B. Fawcett and Marjorie A. Walker Awards, given annually to honor and acknowledge individuals who best exemplify the qualities of fairness, sportsmanship, leadership, determination and competitiveness. The Fawcett Award was given to football senior David Jamieson (Brookfield, OH / Brookfield) and the Walker Award was presented to track & field senior Cassidy Shepherd (Greensburg, PA / Greensburg-Salem).

The WESPY award was given to the top athletic performance by a Titan male and female student-athlete. The men’s WESPY went to track & field junior Jaevon Hardy (Waldorf, MD / North Point) and and the women’s WESPY went to women’s golf junior Kelsey Phillips (Pittsburgh, PA / North Allegheny).

The following is a list of all other awards presented at Sunday’s ceremony:

-Unsung Hero of the Year: (W)-Gabriella Tissue, Soccer, (M)-Neil Christopher, XC
-Rookie of the Year: (W)-Bria Braddock, Lacrosse, (M)-Matt Kwalick, Swimming
-Two-Sport Athlete of the Year: (W)-Anne Tillie, Swimming and Lacrosse, (M)-Jaevon Hardy, Track & Field and Football
-Comeback Athlete of the Year: (W)-Marissa Kalsey, Track & Field, (M)-Loren Kumher, Football
-Team Comeback of the Year: (W)-Softball vs. Thiel, (M)-Basketball vs. Thomas More
-Team Performance of the Year: (W)-Tennis, (M)-Swimming & Diving
-Scholar-Athlete: (W)-Hannah Kappel, (M)-David Jamieson
-Honorary Titan: Barb Linebaugh

BASEBALL-Joseph Salmen
BASKETBALL (W)-Rachel Durbin
BASKETBALL (M)-Deontay Scott
C. COUNTRY (W)-Katelynn Morrell
C. COUNTRY (M)-Matt Slagle
FOOTBALL-Gator Phillips
GOLF (W)-Kelsey Phillips
GOLF (M)-Connor White
LACROSSE (M)-Adrian Culp
SOCCER (W)-Kiana Kawarizadeh
SOCCER (M)-Zach Medarac
SWIMMING (W)-Anne Tillie
SWIMMING (M)-Mitch Stahara
TENNIS (W)-Christijana Vucenovic
TENNIS (M)-Kornel Foremski
TRACK-Indoor (W)-Morgan Widina
TRACK-Indoor (M)-Jaevon Hardy
TRACK-Outdoor (W)-Cassidy Shepherd
TRACK-Outdoor (M)-Jaevon Hardy

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This